Movie Night

Last week Tish recommended the German movie Romeos in the comments.  (Thanks, Tish!)  I haven’t had a chance to watch it yet, but it’s been added to my staggering Netflix queue.  Here’s the blurb:

Transgendered 20-year-old Lukas is going through gender reassignment treatment, a process eased by his friendship with the lesbian Ine. As Ine introduces him to Cologne’s gay scene, Lukas sees his romantic opportunities open up.

That got me wondering.  Does anyone else have recommendations for movies with trans* characters or documentaries that do a good job discussing gender variation?  The Butch Factor wasn’t about trans* individuals, but they did ask gay men to define for themselves what it means to be a man, which I found to be food for thought.  And here’s one that I found absolutely fascinating: 100% Woman.  It’s about Michelle Dumaresq, a Canadian downhill mountain bike champion, and her struggle to be accepted as a competitor in national and international events.  Unbelievably, the organizational bodies accepted her pretty quickly.  It was her fellow racers who seemed to give her the most grief.  I haven’t found a good source for this one– it’s not available on Netflix, and I’m not finding it for sale in stores.  It might be available on the Logo TV website.  I can’t get it to come up, but I can’t tell if the problem is on my end or theirs.  There is distribution information on the website linked above, and you might be able to get your own copy there.  Otherwise, my best suggestion is to keep an eye out for it to air again on Logo or a similar channel in your area.

So, what movies or documentaries do you recommend?  (With luck, something that’s a little easier to get a hold of!)

One thought on “Movie Night

  1. I actually watched it and it wasn’t bad. In fact it was well done and not gratuitous. (if that makes sense…. I thought the ending was brilliant)

    Tish

Leave a comment